you got chocolate in my peanut butter

It’s funny how foods can be fit into certain categories: breakfast, lunch or dinner, as well as specific foods for kids and adults. And it almost requires an act of defiance, daring or desperation to break the food ranks. Some restaurants will only serve “breakfast foods” before 11 (or earlier if you’re unlucky) and on the menu, a hot dog, PB & J or mac and cheese can only be ordered for your kids (of course there are a couple acceptable deviations – at home when no one is watching, at the ball park, or at Peanut Butter & Co – a Peanut Butter sandwich restaurant in NYC.

Forget the “kids only” stigma, as far back as I can remember, my dad was a peanut butter fiend. I’m talking 2, maybe 3 sandwiches to the jar. Dry peanut butter troweled thick onto dry white bread. No thanks. As a child I liked it fine, but didn’t seem to share my fathers relish for it. You had to add something to the experience before I’d bite – jelly or, hopefully, Fluff, ocassionally both.

Put the Wonder Bread and Ritz back on the shelf, the only way I’d enjoy PB as a solitary spread is sandwiched between chocolate chip cookies. Peanut butter on some Keebler Elfin magic – Crunchy cookies, chocolatey goodness, now there’s a “sandwich” I can’t get enough of. (I never understood how some people, believe it or not, thought this was gross – people who like PB and cookies mind you.) To me, peanut butter really needs the neccessary counterpoint chocolate offers. But unless I could manage to sneak a few chocolate chips past my moms watchful eye, this was a sandwich that could never be.

A trip to France brought Nutella into my world. A European delight, now thankfully available at the local megamart. I buy this blend of chocolate, hazelnut and magic in bulk whenever possible. All by itself or with peanut butter, this is a dream. A snack item masquerading as lunch – a pseudo Reese’s peanut butter cup sandwich if you will. A dream finally realized. Frustratingly I can’t seem to convice others of the joy Nutella brings.

So, imagine my delight to see a commercial recently for Peanut Butter Oreos – Double Stuf style! Replace the white bread of the childhood staple with a pair of chocolate cookies, and you’ve got an extra-peanut butter, chocolatey experience my dad, nay, the entire free world and I can agree on.

About Scott

I am a son, brother, husband and father, and I am (or have been and enjoyed being) A student of science, art, and humanities in the states and abroad. A graphic designer, art deparment manager, and an art director. A woodworker, home renovator & preservationist. Vegetarian, organic gardener, cook. Photographer, cartoonist. Runner, judoka and fencer. An actor, writer, director and producer for a student run (but not school affiliated or sponsored) local access variety show. A uomo universale in training! In my spare time I like to read, watch movies and look for other creative pursuits and new inspirations!
This entry was posted in off the shelf. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

