weekend favorites

Had a really good food weekend (to balance out a fair amount of hard work).

The highlights:

Fresh tomatoes are one of my favorite things about summer. Found about a dozen different heirloom tomatoes at the market, grabbed two; a dark reddish/ almost purplish one, and a nice yellow/yellow orangish one. These were diced up, and baked atop some fresh bread, drizzled with olive oil, balsamic and a sprinkling of sea salt and fresh basil (chiffonade). They were gorgeous, as well as delicious. I’d have taken pictures, but I was too anxious to eat. I’ll make more, real soon… (speaking of tomatoes, I’m planning on making Alton Brown’s baked tomato sauce before the season passes. If it comes out great, I’ll be canning a bunch, otherwise it’s then back to jarred (organic) goodness from Trader Joe’s.

Speaking of AB, he had a Good Eats episode recently on sushi, and I’ve had a hankering ever since. Last night we met friends, and filled up. I enjoyed crab salad, tempura salmon maki and a tropical, almost dessert maki, with pineapple and a kiwi sauce. With a 22 oz Sapporo of course, followed by “fish” ice-cream.

Today – even though I shouldn’t have, we went out for ice-cream. I figure I’d burned enough calories to justify. What were my choices? Didn’t bother to check, I always have mocha chip. Today it came in a waffle cone. Don’t know what I’ll do if they ever run out.

About Scott

I am a son, brother, husband and father, and I am (or have been and enjoyed being) A student of science, art, and humanities in the states and abroad. A graphic designer, art deparment manager, and an art director. A woodworker, home renovator & preservationist. Vegetarian, organic gardener, cook. Photographer, cartoonist. Runner, judoka and fencer. An actor, writer, director and producer for a student run (but not school affiliated or sponsored) local access variety show. A uomo universale in training! In my spare time I like to read, watch movies and look for other creative pursuits and new inspirations!
This entry was posted in culinary excursions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

