Vacation, Day 2 – sauced

How do you recharge (and relax) after a hard day swinging a hammer and weilding a drill? You make sauce. Tomato and Chocolate Mocha! (not together silly), and all prepped while dinner cooks – Balsalmic roasted chicken and veg en papillote.

Start with 40 roma tomatoes, halved and seeded, (and all your baking dishes)

skipping dried herbs for fresh was the most tedious part – good thing I had helpers for this part….

add onion (2 C), garlic (4 t), thyme, oregano (2 T each, finely minced) and olive oil (1/2 C)

wait two-and-a-half hours. (325 for the first 2 hours, crank to 400 for the last 1/2), run it through a food mill (toss the skins), add 2 C of white wine (opt) and Voila!

If you followed the recipe link, you’ll notice I doubled the recipe… and if you look really closely at the first photo, you’ll notice I forgot to seed the tomatoes. I generally think that If I’m going to go through the trouble of making something, I might as well make enough to make it worth my while… and in case I made too much this time, I dragged out the canning equip. More often than not my insticts have provided us with a well stocked larder. This on the other hand came out much thinner, and less plentiful, than I had expected.

However, the yeild was just about what the recipe called for… so perhaps all is not lost, just a bit thin for my taste… Oh, the taste you ask… I’m underwhelmed. It didn’t impress, at least not yet. It came off too thin, and I really noticed the wine. I suppose I should have let it reduce a bit more.
So while I don’t think I’ll be having this over angel hair anytime soon… This may work out quite well for some sort of a pasta bake dish… I’ll try that when the kitchen cools down, and the humidity dissipates. Any other suggestions for improvement, or alternate usage? I hate to throw away, essentially $30+ worth of sauce… and 6 hours of my night (store to jar to blog)

On a more positive note… While the tomatoes were baking… and we were hankering for something COLD to alleviate the hot kitchen blues… Frappucinos or smoothies sounded nice, but alas, there was no chocolate syrup to be had… a quick search of the web turned up some promising, and some not exactly drink worthy… (Butter or Buttermilk in a Mocha?)

Allrecipes offered some simple ones. Simple is good…. But… I had to take it one step further… I took 1 1/4 cups of water, and brought that to a boil with 1 1/3 cups of sugar, and 2/3 cups of cocoa poweder… AND… 2 heaping TBS of instant coffee powder… Mochalicious! My only complaint is this was also quite thin, and it all settled on the bottom… but the flavor did not dissapoint! Being more of a simple syrup than a true sauce… I’m not afraid this is going to solidify into a solid mass, unusable come tomorrow, so tonight, I’m batting 500.

So, for the Tuesday review… Tomato Sauce – just as easy to make as yesterdays veggie spread (which was really good), chop, bake, ignore, puree… but not quite ready for prime time. The Chocolate Mocha sauce – Yummy! Further confirming a friends statement, that anything mocha is good.

About Scott

I am a son, brother, husband and father, and I am (or have been and enjoyed being) A student of science, art, and humanities in the states and abroad. A graphic designer, art deparment manager, and an art director. A woodworker, home renovator & preservationist. Vegetarian, organic gardener, cook. Photographer, cartoonist. Runner, judoka and fencer. An actor, writer, director and producer for a student run (but not school affiliated or sponsored) local access variety show. A uomo universale in training! In my spare time I like to read, watch movies and look for other creative pursuits and new inspirations!
This entry was posted in recipes, the kitchen. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vacation, Day 2 – sauced

  1. lisa says:

    I made the same sauce today and it came out bleh. Ah well, nothing like leaving the oven on for nearly 3 hours when it’s 95 outside 🙂

  2. Scott says:

    happy, but sorry, to hear that I’m not the only one foolishly in the sweltering kitchen… I spent the whole week looking at these 4 jars of sauce that I’m just so unmotivated to use. Still, I can’t bear the thought of throwing all that money away… perhaps I’ll figure out a way to salvage it… someday… eventually

Leave a Reply

