Sauce salvation?

I got home from work late. Real late. Just enough time to boil some elbows (nothin’ like a quick and easy bowl of buttered pasta and “spinny cheese”) before I had to put my little girl to bed. – spinny cheese – a fresh piece of pecorino romano in the spiral cheese grater, as opposed to the shakey cheese in the green can.

I cooked up the whole box, and what didn’t get scarfed down, went into a baking dish, with some cannellini, meatless-balls from TJ’s, some parmigianno reggiano and a jar full of that lackluster sauce I may be trying in vain to make palatable. (Oh, and you can go ahead and use real meatballs, if you swing that way.)

I didn’t add anything in the way of herbs and spices, though I expect we’ll have to when it comes time to serve. I want to see what it takes to “fix” this sauce and perhaps have a better idea of what to do next time… if there is a next time.

I’ve noticed a tendency to blog about foods while they’re cooking, and/or before I’ve tried them, without always coming back with a thumbs up (or down). So, to keep up with that bad habit, let me close by saying this: I think this pasta bake dish will make up for the very soupy consistancy of the sauce, but I think it will take a pile of cheese and garlic bread to make this meal worth eating… time will tell. And, perhaps, so will I.

About Scott

I am a son, brother, husband and father, and I am (or have been and enjoyed being) A student of science, art, and humanities in the states and abroad. A graphic designer, art deparment manager, and an art director. A woodworker, home renovator & preservationist. Vegetarian, organic gardener, cook. Photographer, cartoonist. Runner, judoka and fencer. An actor, writer, director and producer for a student run (but not school affiliated or sponsored) local access variety show. A uomo universale in training! In my spare time I like to read, watch movies and look for other creative pursuits and new inspirations!
This entry was posted in the kitchen. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

