on the house

Daddy… where are you?

Yes, I’ve been out of the kitchen as of late. A little busy getting some projects wrapped up. Hopefully, (but not likely) before I start some new ones.

While I may have been away from food, it has been following me around. Last weekend, after replacing our bedroom windows, I painted the room “Chocolate Pudding.” (Only took 4 coats, to the Cranberry Zing’s 7+). Now that the walls are nice and rich (and chocolatey!) we picked up the trim paint today, and “Sugarcane” will be going up tomorrow!

A couple highlights involving actual food this week (that didn’t come out of the freezer). Sushi for lunch on Thursday – salmon tempura maki, as well as a “tropical” maki with pineapple and crab (I think?) with a mango sauce. (Did I mention this combo before? We’ll it’s a good one. Almost like a meal and dessert in one, kinda. As an aside, I surprised the chef/owner by switching things up from my typical order of “Veggie Dynamite” – asparagus tempura, avo, cu…). I’ll usually stick to the cooked or veg menu, but I have tried a range of offerings, the raw and the cooked. My ultimate favorite (at another local spot) is a spicy salmon roll. It’s a meal in itself, and a little too hot for my liking… but oh, it is so worth it anyway.

Our grocery stop at TJ’s had us sampling some really good, freshly-baked, choc-chip cookies. I will be making a batch this weekend! Regrettably the dough is pre-made, but at least it’s an all-natural brand with only ingredients I’d have used anyway, not all those “extras” in the slice and bake stuff.

And finally, thanks to Blog Day 2006, I’ve found several new rss feeds. One of the more interesting, takes us back to cooking in the colonial times. 18th Century French Colonies to be precise. Virtual historical reenactment, with food!

About Scott

I am a son, brother, husband and father, and I am (or have been and enjoyed being) A student of science, art, and humanities in the states and abroad. A graphic designer, art deparment manager, and an art director. A woodworker, home renovator & preservationist. Vegetarian, organic gardener, cook. Photographer, cartoonist. Runner, judoka and fencer. An actor, writer, director and producer for a student run (but not school affiliated or sponsored) local access variety show. A uomo universale in training! In my spare time I like to read, watch movies and look for other creative pursuits and new inspirations!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

