2 dozen muffins from a single batch!

Just returned from a weeklong cruise to Bermuda (and I have several weeks of blog fodder), but before the tales of buffets, beaches and Black Seal rum, Sweetie and I whipped up some of these muffins, to get us through that last week of work. Vacation prep is always hard work on the home and work fronts :(.

Presenting the fruits of our labor, two dozen mocha chip muffins, each in our own scale…

If you can’t tell by now, I have a thing for mocha. My wife doesn’t, but our little girl seems to be on my side of the fence, so I have to learn to share. On the plus side I have more excuses to make such things! She delighted in my using her small “play” cooking set, and I must say, it did a fine job. I ended up taking a container full of the little guys as car food for our trip to the boat – coffee and muffin all rolled into one!

Unlike other muffin recipes in books I have (healthy or otherwise) that recommend mixing up the batter as little as possible, these spend a bit (ok, a lot) more time under the mixer and come out really smooth – which I found a little “different” at first, but kept coming back for more. These are really quick to make – the longest part is waiting for the butter to soften, if you don’t plan ahead (as I seldom do).

The recipe comes from Cooks Illustrated, which tests recipes to perfection, but I’ve had to alter it to fit my pantry a few times, and large variations have still yielded the same (if not very similar) results. Here’s my version:

dry ingr:
3 cups flour (unbleached all-purpose)
occasionally I’ll use equal parts whole wheat (or soft wheat pastry) flour and AP flour)

1 tbsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt

wet ingr:
10 tbsp (1 1/4 sticks) butter, softened
1 cup  sugar
2 eggs
2 six oz. containers (1 1/2 cups) coffee yogurt
   or vanilla yogurt mixed with
3 tbsp instant espresso powder
(or 5 of instant coffee)

goodies:
1 cup (heaping) chocolate chips
or 1/2 cup each chips and pecans or walnuts
Preheat oven to 375.
Mix dry ingredients in med bowl.

Cream together sugar and butter in large bowl, add eggs, beat until incorporated.

Add approx 1/3 of the flour mixture to the butter and sugar mix, beat until combined. Add in the yogurt and flour in two or three alternating batches, mixing until incorporated between each addition. Fold in chocolate chips.

Spray twelve cup muffin tin with cooking spray, and divide batter evenly among the cups, bake until golden brown 25-30 min. Check with toothpick to see if done, set on wire rack to cool 5 – 10 min, serve warm.

If cooking a batch of mini-muffins alongside, check about 1/2 way to see if done, then watch closely so the smaller ones don’t burn.

These are great for breakfast and/or dessert – if they last that long!

About Scott

I am a son, brother, husband and father, and I am (or have been and enjoyed being) A student of science, art, and humanities in the states and abroad. A graphic designer, art deparment manager, and an art director. A woodworker, home renovator & preservationist. Vegetarian, organic gardener, cook. Photographer, cartoonist. Runner, judoka and fencer. An actor, writer, director and producer for a student run (but not school affiliated or sponsored) local access variety show. A uomo universale in training! In my spare time I like to read, watch movies and look for other creative pursuits and new inspirations!
This entry was posted in recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

