turkey for you and turkey for me

Bought myself a fresh, free-range, vegetarian fed (etc..) turkey today. Gonna attempt to do the whole Thanksgiving kit and caboodle myself this year. For just the three of us, gotta have leftovers ya know. Mom and Dad are having an army over (with more signing up daily), so there’ll be no doggie bags for sure.

If all goes well, I’ll have no reason not to offer to host in the upcoming years – bigger house, just as central location… only thing lacking is moms culinary skills, and sense of timing. Two years ago I tried my hand at one of those boneless turkey breasts stuffed with cornbread stuffing and cranberries from Trader Joes. It was passable. Blame the cook, and lack of tools, not the food.

Tried a Turkey breast last year with better success. This year, after recovering from the tryptophan induced haze from gorging ourselves silly this coming Thursday, I’ll be firing up my oven to roast my own bird, organic mashed potatoes, corn bread stuffing (yes I’m using pepperidge farms and I’m not going to apologize for it – some traditions are not to be messed with) Butternut squash (pureed with apples, because some traditions will be), and so on…

After the traditional meal, I’ll be making soup, lots of soup. probably 2 kinds. and sandwiches, lots of sandwiches. Panini, and so on.

I love thanksgiving! That’s why I was born just in time for it!

About Scott

I am a son, brother, husband and father, and I am (or have been and enjoyed being) A student of science, art, and humanities in the states and abroad. A graphic designer, art deparment manager, and an art director. A woodworker, home renovator & preservationist. Vegetarian, organic gardener, cook. Photographer, cartoonist. Runner, judoka and fencer. An actor, writer, director and producer for a student run (but not school affiliated or sponsored) local access variety show. A uomo universale in training! In my spare time I like to read, watch movies and look for other creative pursuits and new inspirations!
This entry was posted in the kitchen. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

