Tired of turkey yet?

I’m not! – But after the big meal Thursday, my own on Friday, hot turkey sandwiches, turkey hash, and turkey soup, (YAWN) I’m sure enjoying all the extra naps! (Yeah, right. Not with an almost 4 year old running around.) But I’m looking forward to the next batch of soup, panini, and if I have enough leftovers come next weekend – a turkey pot pie or some such… hmmm…. the options abound.

A few things I’ve learned after cooking my own bird:

  • You CAN start cooking at 4:30, and still have everything on the table for the usual (albeit late weeknight) dinner time.
  • Starting Stock on the other hand, best wait until tomorrow, unless you have a couple DVDs to keep you up til midnight.
  • A digital probe thermometer can be your best friend IF you make sure its buried in the meat, and not touching a bone.
  • Using my moms covered roasting pan (I sure hope I can find one for myself) really cuts down on the cooking time and makes for a real moist and juicy bird – No brining neccessary! (although I might give it a shot someday)
  • You can totally take advantage of the resting time to make sure all the sides are done at roughly the same time.
  • I really need to learn how to carve (before someone sees me tearing meat off with my bare hands. Not pretty, but effective.
  • You can still find an all natural (grain/vegetarian fed, free-range, etc…) if not organic turkey before AND after thanksgiving in these parts!
  • a 12# bird will feed three, and has ample leftovers, and isn’t so big that I couldn’t cook another one anytime! Which I may just do as the stockpile wanes – I could have turkey soup 2 meals a day until spring.
About Scott

I am a son, brother, husband and father, and I am (or have been and enjoyed being) A student of science, art, and humanities in the states and abroad. A graphic designer, art deparment manager, and an art director. A woodworker, home renovator & preservationist. Vegetarian, organic gardener, cook. Photographer, cartoonist. Runner, judoka and fencer. An actor, writer, director and producer for a student run (but not school affiliated or sponsored) local access variety show. A uomo universale in training! In my spare time I like to read, watch movies and look for other creative pursuits and new inspirations!
This entry was posted in the kitchen. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

