The trouble with brewin’

So, I’ve just bottled up another (what I hope will be a) fine batch of Beer. After the sucess (and super quick turn around) of my first attempt, I’ve dived into the recipe book and attempted some more recipes that go beyond the straight-out-of-the-can simplicity of Mr. Beer’s standard fare.

Thankfully my first experience was a good one, be cause the next two were just okay. Not bad, good enough to drink, but not worth making more (but definately worthy of finding their way into chili, crepes, brownies, breads, salsas, donuts and so on. numbersfour and five, remain to be seen. Six and seven will be going into works this weekend.

brewed to date:

#1 – Irish Stout. Nice and flavorful, more like a porter than “thick” like guiness, with a faint molasses finish.

#2 – West Coast Pale Ale – I started this at the same time as the next (working two kegs at the same time baby!), and bottled this one a couple weeks before. After waiting out the estimated time for full carbonation the beer came out flat. Did I open it too early? Did I forget to add priming sugar? Why do I smell apples? (Oh, no did I get confused and bottle the next batch too early?)

#3 – Dutch Apple Ale. This started out as a basic English Brown Ale, but uses about 25% apple juice instead of water. But with the bottling mix up, I was afraid I bottled this too early before it reached full apple ale potential.

So, I had two beers that I had to wait a few weeks for to see if they’d properly carbonate, meanwhile I had two more going, and I wasn’t able to re-use any of my bottles… After 2 more weeks they both seemed ready to drink. Turns out I hadn’t mixed up the two. What I thought was the Pale Ale was definately not appley. Sort of clean, went good with food. (not as good without.) The Apple Ale, was also not appley – but it did have a nice cidery finish (or after taste) which I like. I’ll drink some of this, and cook with some. Mr. Beer also offers a cider kit, which I’d like to compare this too.

#4 is a Porter, which I just bottled on Saturday but I’m eager to try, but will have to wait a few weeks.

#5 is a coffee beer, added coffee to a vienna style lager – think Drew Carey’s Buzz Beer… at least I’m hoping so…, I’ll have to wait for it to find out. First, I need to polish of one more six pack of anything (beer, IBC, whatever) before I’ll have enough bottles, and second, three weeks of racking/lagering, whatever you call it, it’s just WAITING for carbonation…..

Arghhh, the non-instant gratification of this hobby!!!

About Scott

I am a son, brother, husband and father, and I am (or have been and enjoyed being) A student of science, art, and humanities in the states and abroad. A graphic designer, art deparment manager, and an art director. A woodworker, home renovator & preservationist. Vegetarian, organic gardener, cook. Photographer, cartoonist. Runner, judoka and fencer. An actor, writer, director and producer for a student run (but not school affiliated or sponsored) local access variety show. A uomo universale in training! In my spare time I like to read, watch movies and look for other creative pursuits and new inspirations!
This entry was posted in beer. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The trouble with brewin’

  1. connie says:

    what a great hobby. there’s a bit of the mad scientist element to all the mixing and stiring… glass and contraptions involved.

  2. Nicole says:

    I really hope you try making some hard cider sometime! I’d love to read about it ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reading about all of this beer really really makes me want to try it all! Do you think you’ll be trying any fruit beers other than the apple? Raspberrry wheat perhaps? I love all kinds of beer! I lived in Oregon for several years and developed a taste for microbrews…especially porters and stouts. But I also really love McMenamin’s Ruby ale, which is raspberry (they were the first brewery in the states to legally use fruit in the creation of ales, according to their web site). We used to go McMenamin’s pubs and order a pitcher of half Terminator Stout and half Ruby. We called it “Rubinator” and it was a great combination! So, if you ever do make some raspberry, keep a bottle of your stout on hand and try mixing it ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Scott says:

    The Rubinator, I love it! I bet that’s really good. I’d tried stout and cider before, had a great one at a micro brewery in VT. I’m finding I’m more into the darker beers as well, however once the weather starts warming up again (now that winter finally hit) I’m going to try my hand a few lighter summer brews.

    I have made “regular” apple cider before, which, in time does become hard cider (and delicious!). I’ll write about that when I do the Cider kit.

Leave a Reply

