an artful science…

but it’s still a science.

I seem to have this habit of blogging some food creations as I’m making them (what else does one do while bread is rising, proofing and then eventually baking?). I think I got a little cocky with my beer bread last time, not being so precise with the measurements, (scoop and sweep) and taking the bread out a little too soon. (doughy in the middle, and while edible, not really sandwich worthy).

Granted I was making three loaves of bread at the same time, a double batch of a multigrain bread I’m trying to perfect (using vegetable juice instead of water) to up the healthieness a bit. Those came out just fine thank-you, but I’m still not having consistent results. The dough is just too sticky, so I’ll add more flour (can take an awful lot before things seem “right.” Not that I always know what “right” is.

I’ve done a little homework, and had some great comments which have proven helpful. However, today I was trying to juggle dinner and bread at the same time, and tried to forgo adding all that extra flour, perhaps I was just rushing things. I mean afterall, the beer bread I’ve made is more like batter than dough, and usually comes out great.

So tonight, trying to heed my lessons I learned last time (and after being tired of the two supermarket loaves I’ve had to eat – the first since new years) I tried sticking more closely to the original recipe. Once the dough had doubled in size, it plopped down to something more akin to pizza dough. I’m currently expecting two pink bricks to come out of the oven. (See here I go doing it again… blogging about something not done yet… everthing might turn out great. I’m just not putting my money down on that outcome.)

The new site A year in bread couldn’t have come at a better time. Hopefully, with a little more prodding, and a lot more practice. I can be a much better bread baker.

The past two weeks have shown me that even my mediocre attempts are much more tasty than supermarket fare. My poached egg on toast this morning was nearly unfit to serve!

— added 3/27/07 —

Yes my last batch of bread turned out to be a pair of orange/pink bricks…. but tasty ones at that.

About Scott

I am a son, brother, husband and father, and I am (or have been and enjoyed being) A student of science, art, and humanities in the states and abroad. A graphic designer, art deparment manager, and an art director. A woodworker, home renovator & preservationist. Vegetarian, organic gardener, cook. Photographer, cartoonist. Runner, judoka and fencer. An actor, writer, director and producer for a student run (but not school affiliated or sponsored) local access variety show. A uomo universale in training! In my spare time I like to read, watch movies and look for other creative pursuits and new inspirations!
This entry was posted in bread, the kitchen. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to an artful science…

  1. kevin says:

    We’ve all made our share of bricks — well, maybe except for kitchenMage.

  2. Pingback: soup? yes. bread, just barely. « Someone’s In the Kitchen with Daddy

Leave a Reply

