two brews

I’m increasingly finding myself prefering the fruits of my own labor… especially (as readers of this blog have noted) in the beer and bread departments. (If only I had some more land for garden and some animals… I might be able to forgo the grocery store altogether!)

I just tried one of the many beers I’ve made this winter. One that was left unlabeled, and I really liked it. But I couldn’t figure out which one it was! Was it an improved version of my Apple Beer? Did the Porter just need a little more time? It seems that wonderful things keep happening to the beer in the bottle… you just can’t wait too long to drink them, otherwise bad things will likely happen!

Evolutions aside, my favorite beers to date have been the first two I’ve made, an Irish Stout and an IPA. My wife, definately NOT a beer drinker, also liked them!

Well, the kegs have been empty for a few weeks now, and it was time to change that… I also have amassed enough bottles to get brewing again, so today I made the premium versions of my faves! Really looking forward to see how these compare to the basic kits.

The American Devil IPA was the first to have noticable pieces of real hops mixed into the molasses-like malt base. It was also the first one to date that smelled like I was making beer!

The Sticky Wicket Oatmeal Stout promises to be darker and smoother than the one I’d brewed previously.

Now, I just have to wait. . . (and get a few more bottles empty in the meantime!)

About Scott

I am a son, brother, husband and father, and I am (or have been and enjoyed being) A student of science, art, and humanities in the states and abroad. A graphic designer, art deparment manager, and an art director. A woodworker, home renovator & preservationist. Vegetarian, organic gardener, cook. Photographer, cartoonist. Runner, judoka and fencer. An actor, writer, director and producer for a student run (but not school affiliated or sponsored) local access variety show. A uomo universale in training! In my spare time I like to read, watch movies and look for other creative pursuits and new inspirations!
This entry was posted in beer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

