14 bottles of beer on the wall

I love the smell of bread baking, and I love the smell of bottling beer. Tonight I had plenty of the latter. Two kegs, 4 gallons of beer in the making, yielding 14 quarts of premium brew. How do I know it’s premium? It says so on the box!

Tonight I opened the second to last bottle of porter – even better than I remember (Which also answered a question I pondered in my previous beer post… the unlabled beer was not the porter, but was it the apple? (ah, a new question to raise a glass to). I do hope that was the apple, for otherwiseI’ll have to cook with the several quarts remaining – is there anything beyond beer can chicken or brats? I’ve used 1/2 a can in a batch of crepes, but this would be enough crepes to turn off a Frenchman.

Time indeed is an essential ingredient – one not listed in the basic instructions with my kit. Two weeks from keg to bottle to glass indeed! Ok, two weeks is certainly possible, and still a better result than most of what I’d find in the supermarket. But with a little more patience… I may never order a beer at a restaurant again. Seriously.

There was one recipe I recall that called for 6 months of hanging out in the bottles before cracking them open… While I struggle with the patience to wait out my two latest creations (for a few weeks), my mind turns to the summer possibilites. There were some recipes I’d made a mental note to make, now to find those before I run out of summer to enjoy them.

About Scott

I am a son, brother, husband and father, and I am (or have been and enjoyed being) A student of science, art, and humanities in the states and abroad. A graphic designer, art deparment manager, and an art director. A woodworker, home renovator & preservationist. Vegetarian, organic gardener, cook. Photographer, cartoonist. Runner, judoka and fencer. An actor, writer, director and producer for a student run (but not school affiliated or sponsored) local access variety show. A uomo universale in training! In my spare time I like to read, watch movies and look for other creative pursuits and new inspirations!
This entry was posted in beer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

