premium schmemium

I’ve been sampling the premium kits from Mr. Beer that I’ve made (and blogged on) several weeks back. I have a habit of blogging whilst things are “cooking” and still fresh in my mind (and exciting, no?), and from time to time become a little neglectful on the follow up. (and neglectful to avoid run-on sentences that run on and on and on…)

Anywho… After making a couple of the standard kits – West Coast Pale Ale, Irish Stout, as well as a few recipes involving other standard kits – coffee bock, porter, and apple pie ale, I thought I’d give the “premium” kits a shot.

To date, I’ve made, bottled, waited (and waited) for The American Devil IPA, and Sticky Wicket Stout to be drinkable, and have tried them at various times over the past couple weeks. These kits have been the easiest by far to make (I had a heck of a time getting the ingredients to dissolve on my first go (granted the kit was a couple years past it’s expiration date), and The American Devil was the first to actually smell like beer from the get go.

My first sip of said IPA was heavenly. Surely the premium kits are the way to go! But as some of the other beers have evolved, matured, changed over the weeks these did as well, and now I’m not so sure. I wonder if these homebrews are like wine, and are best with certain foods?

In the instance of the coffee beer, it went from tannic and cold black coffee in nature to quite drinkable (though not worth re-making… cooking with may prove to be another story.) as for the most recent IPA it went from great on its own, to best enjoyed with food… The jury is still out on the Sticky Wicket… but I think I liked their standard Stout better. I definately liked the basic (included with every kit) West Coast Pale Ale best of all to date. (I wonder if waiting a couple years before I made it had something to do with it?)

Well… time’s over for the winter brews… time to make some great beers for summer… just enough time to “cook” something up for the annual family picnics.

About Scott

I am a son, brother, husband and father, and I am (or have been and enjoyed being) A student of science, art, and humanities in the states and abroad. A graphic designer, art deparment manager, and an art director. A woodworker, home renovator & preservationist. Vegetarian, organic gardener, cook. Photographer, cartoonist. Runner, judoka and fencer. An actor, writer, director and producer for a student run (but not school affiliated or sponsored) local access variety show. A uomo universale in training! In my spare time I like to read, watch movies and look for other creative pursuits and new inspirations!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

