two brews with one (bermuda) stone

Seek not, and ye shall find, An (local) end to my quest?!

A fifth of Black Seal and two cans of Barritt’s! A Dark N Stormy Kit!

The proportions are rather odd – enough rum to make twenty-five drinks, but alas, ginger beer for four…

(maybe I’ll have to try the cran/orange/rum drink also on the package – 2 oz of each juice, 1.5 of rum)

though, after months of searching and waiting, I’ll take it! (and found about a half-hour from home) I don’t think I need to “save it.” But Oh, I’ll savor it!

now, I’m off to find a lime!

in case you don’t want to scroll back (or google) the recipe:

1. take a tall beer glass, fill 2/3 with ice.
2. Squeeze lime juice (1/2 lime) over the ice
3. add 2 oz. Dark rum (Black Seal, Baby!)
4. add 6 oz. Ginger Beer (Barritt’s if you’ve got it, won’t vouch for any others i’ve tried to date, still looking…)
5. add a slice of lime
6. try to drink just one!

About Scott

I am a son, brother, husband and father, and I am (or have been and enjoyed being) A student of science, art, and humanities in the states and abroad. A graphic designer, art deparment manager, and an art director. A woodworker, home renovator & preservationist. Vegetarian, organic gardener, cook. Photographer, cartoonist. Runner, judoka and fencer. An actor, writer, director and producer for a student run (but not school affiliated or sponsored) local access variety show. A uomo universale in training! In my spare time I like to read, watch movies and look for other creative pursuits and new inspirations!
This entry was posted in culinary excursions, my favorite things. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to two brews with one (bermuda) stone

  1. connie says:

    oh, i had a dark & stormy at a bar on saturday. it didn’t have lime and they put in too much rum {im not much of a rum fan, but i thought i’d try it anyway} i think the lime would make it better

  2. Scott says:

    The first time I tried it, I wasn’t sure if I liked it at first sip… but come the bottom of the glass, I loved it – also had me thinking the ginger was doing me good on a cruise ship. You’ve got to try it again – at another bar, or at home, mixed properly. I think you can get Barritt’s pretty close to where you are… Of course I had my first in Bermuda, so I think there is a very delicate balance involved. All the different ginger ales and beers I’ve tried convinced me of this. As for too much (dark) rum… oh yeah, not a good thing. The first time I had rum was Bacardi 151 – there wasn’t mixer enough to tame it. it was years before I dared try a lighter rum – which I really liked.

Leave a Reply

