A year of heirlooms

Heirloom tomato nirvana has recently befallen our local farms. Little did I know that one, a stones throw from my parents (if your a baseball playing giant that is) grew so many varieties! This week I filled up a bag, grabbing one of each of about half of the available offerings. Three of them different types of Brandywine, one a giant strawberry, others all red and pink, yellow and orange. I envisioned, not making all sorts of tomato dishes – salads, gratins,… – but rather canning this fresh bounty for the winter months, when summer, and the fresh tastes of it, became a distant memory.

Unlike my peach canning experience, (which started off the same way – peeling by blanching and an ice water bath) the tomatoes were a piece of cake to prep, compared to the mess of the munchkin sized peaches. An equally temperate day fit the bill for some late august canning – by bounty 6 pints of assorted tomato wedges.

My next mission, to head on back, and walk out of there with as much as I can carry Basketfulls of dozens and dozens of their fresh picked heirlooms – and to not buy an imported or unfresh imposter until I’m picking my own off the vine next year!

I won’t be canning all of them, In addition to putting down some fresh fruits and veggies for the winter, I’ll also be putting down lots of fresh soups as well as a Polenta Lasagna. I’ve recently stumbled onto some french recipes for ratatoille and a Tomato Squash gratin (almost a ratatouille) that will let me sample some fresh tomato dishes!

About Scott

I am a son, brother, husband and father, and I am (or have been and enjoyed being) A student of science, art, and humanities in the states and abroad. A graphic designer, art deparment manager, and an art director. A woodworker, home renovator & preservationist. Vegetarian, organic gardener, cook. Photographer, cartoonist. Runner, judoka and fencer. An actor, writer, director and producer for a student run (but not school affiliated or sponsored) local access variety show. A uomo universale in training! In my spare time I like to read, watch movies and look for other creative pursuits and new inspirations!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A year of heirlooms

  1. connie says:

    isn’t the variety of heirlooms just mind blowing?! some of them are as big as your head! good luck canning… i just bought a bunch and made a basic sauce out of them.

Leave a Reply

